Home » Blog » LA Congregations Rise as One
Follow by Email

LA Congregations Rise as One

Twenty-eight synagogues participated in the first-annual Los Angeles Community Shabbat this spring, an opportunity for congregants to learn more about the Jewish Federation of Greater Los Angeles and the programs it supports. Spearheaded by the Board of Rabbis, the program in May and early June spanned synagogues from the shores of Malibu to the hills of Hollywood and the San Fernando Valley.

Guest speakers offered divrei Torah (words of Torah) on the weekly portion, and they provided information about Federation programs such as emergency cash grants and financial aid for preschool and religious school families.

Participating synagogues: Adat Ari El, Ahavat Torah, Beth Jacob Congregation, B’nai David Judea Congregation, Hollywood Temple Beth El, IKAR, Kehillat Israel, Congregation Kehillat Maarav, Leo Baeck Temple, Malibu Jewish Center & Synagogue, Nashuva, Ohr HaTorah, Shomrei Torah Synagogue, Sinai Temple, Stephen S. Wise Temple, Temple Akiba, Temple Aliyah, Temple Beth Hillel, Temple Emanuel of Beverly Hills, Temple Isaiah, Temple Israel of Hollywood, Temple Judea, Temple Kol Tikvah, Temple Ramat Zion, University Synagogue, Valley Beth Shalom, Wilshire Boulevard Temple, Young Israel Century City.

The Board of Rabbis / Jewish Federation offer sincere thanks to the following lay leaders, clergy and Federation staff for devoting their time to this community effort:

Senior Rabbis: Jonathan Bernhard, Miriam Hamrell, Kalman Topp, Yosef Kanefsky, Ira Rosenfeld, Sharon Brous, Steven Carr Reuben, Michael Gottlieb, Ken Chasen, Judith HaLevy, Naomi Levy, Mordecai Finley, Richard Camras, David Wolpe, Eli Herscher, Zachary Shapiro, Stewart Vogel, Sarah Hronsky, Laura Geller, Zoe Klein, John Rosove, Don Goor, Jon Hanish, Ahud Sela, Morley Feinstein, Ed Feinstein, Steve Leder, Elazar Muskin.

Guest speakers: Rabbi Jonathan Bernhard, John Magoulas, Jay Sanderson – Federation President & CEO, Catherine Schneider, Mitch Hammerman, Rabbi Mark Diamond, Nancy Sacks, Rabbi Ken Chasen, Jonathan Freund, Rabbi Richard Camras, Heidi Monkarsh, Leslie Bider – Federation Vice Chair of the Board, Andrew Cushnir, Janet Gilmore, Rabbi Michelle Missaghieh, Carol Koransky, Rabbi Jon Hanish, Olivia Herstein, Richard Sandler – Federation Chairman of the Board, Rabbi Karen Fox.

Community Shabbat co-chairs were Rabbis Jonathan Jaffe Bernhard, Morley T. Feinstein, Judith HaLevy, Kalman Topp and Mark S. Diamond; and Lynn Bider, David Nimmer, Julie Platt, Richard Sandler and Jay Sanderson.


Related Posts